A Drop of Golden Sun

It’s Saturday, i have a lot of work to do, but as usual my common response to crippling workloads is to PROCRASTINATE. The Buddha from Pinterest and the Internet was right:

“The problem is, you think you have time” | Internet Buddha

In any case, i thought it wouldn’t do anyone any harm if I shared this piece of sunlight. I’, quite proud of the result, and I think this piece of drawing paves the way for lots of greater works in the future. Inktober has really challenged me to try new things. For that, I’m truly grateful!

(follow me on Instagram @messy_lines for more drawings, musings and sketches. Messy Words is (one of) the extended prose realisations of my messy, inner landscape)

img_20161024_223640

Inktober 9: Broken

To a friend reeling from the devastation of life’s artillery shells, here is a little drawing. I hope it will make your load a little lighter for a moment. This sunflower started out very ugly and hairy, and at many moments I didn’t know if I was doing the right thing, or if I had to start over again. But I kept going, and tried to turn every messy line into a meaningful one.

The end result isn’t a masterpiece, but hey, it’s something. I think things get better. Not now, but eventually. The ugly green shrivelled stalk will one day burst into a furious saffron supernova, just you see.

Hello, you reading this, weary and despairing. I want you to know that sunflowers still bloom every day somewhere in the world; the solar blossom in our daysky still blooms, bathing us with its petals of radiant light. A great benign solar beam.

You are still loved. Things will get better.
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Leave a Reply

