The Light of Words

1395875_10151986303597013_697291211_n.jpg

It’s important to remember things, to love things. To go back and do simple, sometimes tedious things. Sometimes I find quotes in books that ring inside my head; things that remind me to stay strong and stay bright. I mark them out, and then copy them out manually into a journal. No Ctrl+C, Ctrl+V. The things you spell out with the sinews of living muscle are etched not only in scraps of bright paper, but also in the spirit of your living mind.

Today’s offering is simple, but important, just like the book I took this from. How do you judge the work of a master? I think it’s someone who can write cleanly, simply, but whose words make your being tremble with the sheer resonance of their truth. Kerouac says that one day he will find the right words, and they will be simple. I tend to agree. In that respect, Ursula K. LeGuin is my hero. She is a master in her craft.

Here is a line from Ged, the Wizard of Earthsea.

“Before you can kill the monster you have to say its name.” (Terry Pratchett)

Leave a Reply

