Pensive on the Puncak: Humans on Tahan

Today, we resume with our normal broadcasting programme – sort of, anyway – to bring you a Summit Special.

Thanks to the amazing pictures from our expedition photographers, I thought we could do a quotable quotes section featuring everyone in our team, HONY-esque style.  ‘Pensive on the Puncak’ looks at some of the things people thought and have to say, having been to the Puncak (peak/summit) of Peninsular Malaysia, and come back.

IMG_4429.JPG
“Climb mountains not so the world can see you, but so you can see the world”  – Eliza Tan, Expedition Leader and Coordinator
DSCF0502.JPG
“Steep climbs and painful descents may break my bones, but a Jap cucumber tuna sandwich will never hurt me” – Shawn Teo, Logistics + ZP
DSCF0490
“…I am going to tell them our story. ” – Choo Ruizhi, Expedition Secretary

DSCF0476

“Despite tough times never once did I asked myself why I climbed this mountain. It must be the wonder of nature and warm companionship that kept me going” – Vincent Ong, Expedition Translator and Treasurer

DSCF0492
“You just keep going back, again and again.” – Mei Xuan, Food IC
DSCF0484
“…can I skip this?” – Jared Tay, Logistics (AP) and Medic Head
DSCF0474
“I lift my eyes to the mountains , where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip.” -Amanda Quek, Food 2IC and Camerawoman

 

This entry is the third entry in a multi-part saga about that time 7 ODACers went to climb Gunung Tahan in July 2016. If you liked the direction and writing of this entry, check out the earlier parts of our adventures, recounting our climb to the roof of peninsular Malaysia, our time at the summit of Tahan and how we even dreamed of such a crazy thing to do. 

 

 

One thought on “Pensive on the Puncak: Humans on Tahan

Leave a Reply

