Magma

Today’s entry is a little lighter.

In part, it’s because I am feeling like I’ve been unleashing heavy salvoes of words in the past few days. I thought I’d share one of the poems I wrote for a SingPoWriMo 2016 prompt, which was to

“Write a poem inspired by a memorable character from a movie. Think about this on-screen persona. What are the most striking aspects of their style or physicality? Try to make connections between specific details, like a certain way of speaking or their walk or a trademark line to create a poetic portrayal of this larger-than-life character.”

I chose the giant volcano from Inside Out’s feature film, “Lava”. Because the final scene of that beautifully-rendered entity stuck for eternity with a girl-volcano just made me so uncomfortable – like, what happens when volcanoes fight? Do they have volcano counsellors to help them through their problems? (or is that what volcanologists really are for..?) Actually reading the poem again, i don’t know what i was getting at.

conjoined

But lava, once ejaculated fiery and furious from a blazing cone, will cool. And maybe that’s good, you know. The cooling creates a base for great islands to form. And then life settles and you have trees and birds and lizards which will build their brilliant lives upon these cooled islands of volcanic rock, basalt and granite. A stabler kind of love, much like Catherine and Hareton. Maybe. But here’s a poem to munch on, on another type of passion – perhaps more Heathcliff than Linton.

Magma

We pine for other cones

Living in the sea below

Listening to our songs

 

Oh, we are so ready

To give ourselves up and see

Awestruck, what magic and glimmer ‘we’ can give

I have a dream, I hope will come true
That you’re here with me, and I’m here with you
I wish that the earth, sea, the sky up above
Will send me someone to lava

Yet conjoined, twins are a struggle

I wonder how two live as one flesh;

Violent fire and rock, slipping into salty sea

I will not give you spilled fire

Which will cool and ossify

All I have is inside; molten.

 

Leave a Reply

